Placeholder text, please change
Special Education » Special Education

Special Education

 
Logo
 
The Vanguard Academy Special Education Department is entirely committed to meeting the individual needs of all students who have been identified with a disability.  Our primary goal is to ensure that students with disabilities receive necessary services and every opportunity to achieve their true potential in academics, extracurricular activities and post-secondary ambitions.  All students will build a positive self-esteem, be independent thinkers with good character, express their own unique gifts and talents and be provided "A Purpose in Life and A Reason for Learning.”
 
Special Education Staff  
 
Mrs. Mary Lily Garza, Director of Special Education
(956) 781-1701
                                                                                                                     
Diagnosticians
Pam Luna p_luna@vanguardac.net
Denyse D. Morales
San Juana Salazar
ssalazar@vanguardac.net
 
 
License Specialists In School Psychology (LSSP)
Sonia Chapa        schapa@vanguardac.net
   
 
Speech Language Pathologist
Brittany Underwood.       bunderwood@vanguardac.net
 
Speech Language Pathologist Assistant (SLPA)
Rosana Buenrostro         rbuenrostro@vanguardac.net
Lisa Lopez                       llopez@vanguardac.net
 
 
 
 
Special Education Teachers
Richard Arteaga r_arteaga@vanguardac.net                       Carlos de la Garza c_delagarza@vanguardac.net     
Martha Elizondo melizondo@vanguardac.net                      Cesar Martinez cemartinez@vanguardac.net
Erika Gomez e_gomez@vanguardac.net                             Robert Mombrun rmombrun@vanguardac.net
Jamie Quijada jquijada@vanguardac.net                             Nina Guerrero nguerrero@vanguardac.net   
Aileen Rodriguez-Rios a_rodriguez@vanguardac.net         Michelle Segura mdsegura@vanguardac.net           
Casandra Garcia cagarcia@vanguardac.net                       Ryo Zarate r_zarate@vanguardac.net
Rebekah Garza regarza@vanguardac.net.                         Luis De La Garza  ldelagarza@vanguardac.net
Dinorah Flores diflores@vanguardac.net
 
Important Links
 
 

Resources On Special Education in Texas

 

Delayed or Denied Evaluations & Compensatory Services (English Version)

 

Delayed or Denied Evaluations & Compensatory Services (Spanish Version)

 

Senate Bill 139 Notice to Families

 

SB 139 Notice to Families (English Version)

 

SB 139 Notice to Families (Spanish Version)

 

Texas Transition and Employment Guide

 

Dyslexia Handbook

Texas Project First 
Region 18 Legal Framework SPEDTex Reading Rockets Tips for Parents Supplemental Special Education Services (SSES)
Notice of Procedural Safeguards February 2021 - English Aviso Sobre Procedimientos de Proteccion ARD Guide for Parents - English Guia para padres del proceso de ARD
Special Education Rules and Regulations Bookshare Learning Ally Talking Book Program
VA School Climate Transformation Grant
TEA COVID-19 Information 2020-2021 Vanguard Academy Parent/Student Handbook  Section 504 Information
Positive Behavior Supports Response to Intervention (RtI) Special Education Dispute Resolution Manual de los sistemas para resolucion de disputas
Delayed or Denied Evaluation and Compensatory Services:  
Please Contact Your School Teacher or Administration Vanguard Academy (956) 781-1701
Vanguard Academy Contact Information
 

School

Principal

Phone #

Email

Vanguard Beethoven Elementary

Mrs. Ruth Salinas

(956) 318-0211

r_salinas@vanguardac.net

Vanguard Beethoven Secondary

Mrs. Angelica Martinez

(956) 318-0220

an_martinez@vanguardac.net

Vanguard Picasso Elementary

Mr. Zacarias Martinez

(956) 702-0134

zjmartinez@vanguardac.net

Vanguard Mozart Elementary

Mrs. Rosio Coria-Garcia

(956) 702-2548

rgarcia1@vanguardac.net

Vanguard Mozart Secondary

Dr. Sandra Cabrera

(956) 223-2030

s_cabrera@vanguardac.net

Vanguard Rembrandt Elementary

Ms. Maria Guerrero

(956) 283-1700

mguerrero@vanguardac.net

Vanguard Rembrandt Secondary

Mrs. Maria Farias

(956) 283-0600

ma_farias@vanguardac.net

Vanguard Van Gogh Elementary

Miss Iliana Villafranco

(956) 403-5000

ivillafranco@vanguardac.net

Vanguard Van Gogh Secondary

Mr. Jose Gonzalez

(956) 403-5000

Jo_gonzalez@vanguardac.net

 

 

Evaluaciones Retrasadas o Denegadas y Servicios Compensatorios
Comuníquese con el maestro o la administración de su escuela
Vanguard Academy (956) 781-1701
Updates in Special Education
Please Contact Your School Teacher or Administration
Vanguard Academy (956) 781-1701
Actualizaciones en Educación Especial
Comuníquese con el maestro o la administración de su escuela
Vanguard Academy (956) 781-1701

Inclusion
Special Education students are provided services and supported by accommodations and modifications in the general education classroom, to the greatest extent appropriate, and sometimes with co-teachers and paraprofessionals within the learning environment.


Resource Class
Resource classes are designed to provide instructional assistance to students in mainstream classes. Development of organizational, study, and/or social skills may also be emphasized.

Content Mastery Class
Students receiving special education services may attend Content Mastery Class for modifications of the regular curriculum, methods, and/or materials as defined by the child's ARD/IEP. 


Homebound/Hospital Programs
Homebound and Hospital programs are available to students who are expected to be confined at home or in a hospital for a minimum of four consecutive weeks as documented by a physician.

Regional Day School Program for the Deaf
Vanguard Academy maintains a partnership with RDSPD and it is intended for students ages 0 to 22 with a hearing impairment. Services are provided to eligible students in a variety of instructional settings.

Psychological Services
Students with emotional or behavioral disorders may be provided counseling, therapy and other guidance based on individual need and ARD decisions. Staff members who offer assistance to students with such needs also receive training and guidance regarding how to best service these students.


Social Work Services
Students in need of coping and other life skills are serviced and coached by certified state social workers as part of the School Climate Transformation Grant.


Visual Impairment
Services are provided to children from birth through age 22, who have been identified as visually impaired. The unique needs of the child with visual impairment are addressed for children of all developmental levels.

 

Assistive/Adaptive Technology
Vanguard Academy conducts necessary evaluations and offers assistance to eligible students who the ARD committee and Assistive/Adaptive Technology Team determine would benefit from an Assistive/Adaptive device.


Occupational Therapy
This service is provided for developmental, corrective and other supportive services required to assist a student's motor skills as specified in the ARD/IEP.


Physical Therapy
This service is provided for developmental, corrective, and other supportive services required to assist a student as specified in the ARD/IEP.


Speech/Language Therapy
This service is provided for the evaluation and intervention of communication disorders of articulation, language, fluency and voice. Provided for eligible students whose communication skills adversely affect their developmental and/or academic skills.


Transition Planning
Vanguard Academy has established partnerships with various entities, i.e., Texas Workforce Commission, South Texas College, University of Texas - Rio Grande Valley, etc., and has emphasized planning process that addresses students needs and expectations after high school. 

 

Other Related Services
Provided as needed to assist the student with a disability to benefit educationally, as specified in the ARD/IEP.